Iran English Radio

Home » Iran » Poet: Saadi Shirazi

Poet: Saadi Shirazi

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,016 other subscribers

Sheikh Muslihu’d-Din, known as Saadi, was descended from Ali, the son-in-law of the Prophet Mohammed. Saadi’s father apparently died when he was a boy.

Although Saadi was born and died in Shiraz, Persia (Iran), during his life he traveled extensively. He is said to have traveled for thirty years throughout the Islamic world. Iran has filled the centuries with some of the world’s finest poets, but Iranians consider Saadi to be one of the greatest.

Historians often divide his life into three parts. His first twenty-five years were spent studying in various countries, going to university at Baghdad. During the next thirty years he traveled widely, east to India and as far west as Syria. He made his pilgrimage to Mecca fourteen times. Finally, Saadi returned to Shiraz where he devoted himself to writing and to teaching.

Saadi was a disciple of the Sufi master Sheikh Shahabud-Din Sahrawardi.

Saadi’s two best known works are the Bustan (the Garden), composed entirely in verse, and the Gulistan (the Rose Garden), in both prose and verse. He was particularly known for the wry wit he injected into his poems.

Saadi is probably the first Persian poet to have been translated into European languages. A German version of the Gulistan appeared in 1654.

Saadi’s tomb can be seen in the town of Shiraz. Lines from Saadi’s poems are still commonly used in conversations by Iranians today.

All Adam’s race are members of one frame;

All Adam’s race are members of one frame;
Since all, at first, from the same essence came.
When by hard fortune one limb is oppressed,
The other members lose their wonted rest:
If thou feel’st not for others’ misery,
A son of Adam is no name for thee.


5 Comments

  1. TamrahJo says:

    Wonderful – 🙂

  2. micro jobs says:

    micro jobs

    Without seeing the recipe, I would guess that you used a pre-made pie crust and it was not completely thawed out. That can add additonal time to the cooking process.

  3. KomaGawa says:

    I very much want to visit Iran, and particularly Shiraz in Feb or early March 2014. But, I am having difficulties with negotiations with travel agents, because I am an American citizen. I would be traveling alone, because all my friends here in Japan, and my family oppose or think I am crazy to want to visit Iran. My heart is truly breaking, because I am almost giving up to make the planned trip.
    For example I have heard that I cannot stay more than at most 2 nights and 3 days in Shiraz. beause this is the limit of the schedule the government has decided that Shiraz has for tourists. If I go to Shiraz I would like to visit places associated with Saadi, for at least 2 days, then go to other places in Shiraz. I have heard that every single destination of my day to day actiions must be deided IN ADVANCE and be approved.
    Of course I can understand the Iranian government position regarding Americans. But, my comment is,”IF I have a guide with me at all times why can’t there be flexibiity to decide to go to places which the local citizens may recommend on that day? I want to visit many markets, and restaurants. And so I want to feel as much as possible about the life of Saadi and the life of people in Shiraz. I will probably never get another chance, as I am 63 years old now. furthermore I am studying Farsi, and I have read many parts of the Holy Quran, especially the oldest surahs several times in my special edition of the Book. I also intend to buy a book of Saadi from Amazon. However I am holding off on this because of my questions.

    I apologize for my questions here, but I search the internet and there is no address, even by mail for the Ministry of Tourism, or such ministry that is responsible for these decisions.
    In any case I submit to the Will of God, He doeth as He willeth, and what recourse have we?
    With regards, from Japan
    KomaGawa

    • Hello KomaGawa, My pleasure, and thank you for the compliment. I really appreciate your kind words. So glad to see a comment from you
      Thanks for showing interest in what I put out and showing interest in Iran.I sincerely hope you continue to find Our blog entertaining & pleasurable. and It helps you to get familiar with Iranian culture and kind people. This website can help you about more information.
      http://www.tourismiran.ir/
      Be safe,
      Best Regards!

Leave a comment

The Leader’s Viewpoints